The Samuel N. Patterson House is a historic residence in the city of Xenia, Ohio. Patterson, the owner and architect for this house, was born in Washington, D.C., in 1818. The family moved west to Winchester, Ohio when Samuel was four. As a young man he became a carpenter in Cincinnati, Ohio. In 1846, he moved to Xenia. The next year he married Ellen Newcom; they marriage lasted nearly sixty years before his death in 1907. Soon after his arrival in Xenia, he became an important local businessman. Although he entered into partnership with another man, Tobias Drees, in the ownership of a local mill, he sought to make himself known as a carpenter, and was reputed to be an excellent designer and carver. Patterson arranged for the construction of his house on in 1863. Architectural Style-Italianate. Posted to the National Register of Historic Places on June 3, 1976. GPS: 39.68978°N, -83.93202°W
Tuesday, April 11, 2023
Sunday, April 9, 2023
Madison County Court House - London, Ohio
Madison County Courthouse in London, Ohio. Built in 1890-1892, and has remained virtually unchanged since it was built. The courthouse was designed by architect C. H. Maetsel, and was built by contractors, Doerzbaeh and Decker. The building was erected at a cost of $209,445. The courthouse rests on a stone foundation, and measures approximately seventy-five feet square. The cornerstone was laid on October 4,1890. Architectural Style-Second Empire. Posted to the National Register of Historic Places on March 14, 1973. GPS: 39.88657°N, -83.44931°W.
Swetland House - London, Ohio
Swetlund House in May 1981
Page copied from the Atlas of Madison County in 1875 showing the Swetland residence
Red Brick Tavern - Lafayette, Ohio
Red Brick Tavern in 1933
Red brick Tavern in 1975
Red Brick Tavern in Lafayette, Ohio. Located on the National Road (US 40), west of Columbus, Ohio. The Tavern was built in1837. Originally a stagecoach stop, the Red Brick has had a variety of uses throughout its long history. During a portion of the 1800s it was an inn and tavern. Six U.S. presidents stopped there: John Quincy Adams, Martin Van Buren, William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, Zachary Taylor and Warren G. Harding. With the advent of railroads meant that fewer people were traveling along the National Road. As a result, the Red Brick closed in 1859 and was converted into residential housing. From 1854 to 1864, a school also occupied the third floor. It didn’t reopen as a tavern until 1924. It is now the 2nd oldest tavern in Ohio. Its erection marked the completion of the Cumberland Road section through Deer Creek township, Madison County, in 1836-1837. Architectural Style-Federal. Posted to the National Register of Historic Places on September 5, 1975. GPS: 39.93793°N, -83.40679°W.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
.png)
.png)

.png)